Tenterden Terrier

Terrier Number 101 – Winter 2006

Tenterden Terrier Number 101Number 101 – Winter 2006

21
A foreign work experience
Anne-Sophie Gaudry
A Belgian language student describes her work experience on the K&ESR in the summer of 2006

22-25
The Lambton tank
Ian Scarlett
History and preservation of former Lambton Collieries 0-6-2T No. 29 (built by Kitson & Co. of Leeds, Works No. 4263 of 1904) which visited the K&ESR in summer 2006.  After withdrawal from service by the National Coal Board in February 1969, No. 29 was bought for preservation on the North Yorkshire Moors Railway.  It is now owned by the Lambton Locomotives Trust

26-27
TRAMM’s a TREAT for K&ESR
Jamie Douglas
Track Renewal and Maintenance Machine (TRAMM) No. DR98211 arrived on the K&ESR in July 2006 from Balfour Beatty Rail Plant.  It is a Plasser & Theurer Mark 3 and has been purchased by the Tenterden Railway Equipment and Traction Co. (TREAT)

28-29
Tenterden car park improvements
Matthew Stubbs
The remainder of the car parking field at Tenterden was laid out with hard standing separated by raised beds in September 2006

30-31
If it’s all down to figures…
Philip Shaw
The Chairman of the Finance Committee compares the financial results of the K&ESR and Bluebell Railway PLC for 2005, and draws conclusions for the K&ESR

32-35
“Absent friends” to “You’re not going down there again?”
Neil Rose
A review of the first hundred issues of the Tenterden Terrier magazine (1973-2006), with notes on the contributors over the years.  A subject index has been prepared and is available on the website

36-39
Tenterden Junction?
John Weller and Nick Pallant
History of two unfulfilled railway projects for the Tenterden area: the Tenterden Railway (authorised in 1899) from Headcorn to Appledore via Tenterden, and the Cranbrook & Tenterden Light Railway (also authorised in 1899), which would have had a junction with it.  An extension from Tenterden to Ashford via High Halden, Bethersden and Great Chart was not authorised

40-43
The end of the empire
Brian Janes
A brief look at the way Colonel Stephens’ railway empire faded after his death in October 1931 to its final end with its loss of independence on nationalisation in 1948

44
Stephens’ engineering innovations – Signal posts built from old rail
Brian Janes
The first in an occasional series.  Colonel Stephens may well have originated the use of old rails to fabricate signal posts, which became standard practice on the Southern Railway from 1929.  An example at Portishead on the Weston, Clevedon & Portishead Light Railway is illustrated