Tenterden Terrier

Terrier Number 94 – Summer 2004

Tenterden Terrier Number 94Number 94 – Summer 2004

15-18
The Woolwich coach
Brian Janes
Built for the North London Railway at Wolverton in 1911, this four-wheeled brake was sold to Woolwich Arsenal in about 1940 and was the first carriage on the preservation-era K&ESR in 1964.  It has now been restored to passenger service with the aid of a grant from the Millenium Commission, painted in LMS livery and numbered 7965.

19-21
The railway experience
Philip Shaw
One of the visitor attractions of the K&ESR is the introduction to driving course, in which participants are taught the skills required to drive a steam engine.  The programme is described, and illustrated with photographs by Brian Stephenson

22-23
New siding to Quarry Farm
Mark Yonge
The Rother Valley Railway Ltd has agreed to allow the K&ESR to relay track on some 200 metres of formation that it owns beyond the limit of K&ESR ownership at Bodiam.  The Rother Valley Railway is also planning to reinstate a section of embankment beyond this point.  This forms part of the long-term objective of rebuilding the link between Bodiam and Robertsbridge

24-30
Colonel Stephens in West Somerset
Tom Burnham
In 1917, H.F. Stephens became a director of the west Somerset Mineral Railway, although the line had seen no traffic since 1911 and the track had been lifted

31-34
Rails at Rye Harbour
Kevin Payne
The complex history of industry at Rye Harbour, and its associated railways, both standard gauge (connected to the South Eastern Railways goods-only branch) and narrow (mostly 2-foot) gauge

35-38
A question of attribution
Brian Janes
A carriage body stored by the London Transport Museum at Acton is shown to be that of Weston, Clevedon & Portishead Light Railway carriage No. 7, probably Metropolitan Railway No. 337